RSS

Birthday update!

10 Jun

Hi all!

It has come to my attention that I was featured on the Philofaxy website! Thanks for that guys, and thanks for reading, it makes me very happy! ๐Ÿ™‚

Now, I had my birthday last Friday and I turned 18. First of all: No, it doesn’t feel any different! (Everyone asks me that!) Although I will admit that turning 18 was quite scary with the insurance and banking stuff and all. There were so many things that I had to take care of before and right after my birthday (banking, taxes etc) and that made it really overwhelming. However, now I’ve taken care ofย all most things, it’s not too bad. And this is only the start, right? This is what I’ll have to do for the rest of my life!

My birthday itself was quite normal to be honest, as I had to work all afternoon. I did feel special! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Lots of my colleagues had remembered my birthday and they congratulated me, it was so nice. I didn’t have any relatives over that day, most of them called on Saturday. I really liked that, because that’s always the most awkward part of a birthday, right? Especially because my relatives are all German and even though my German is okay, it still makes me nervous speaking it. It was great though, I had these pastry things that I don’t know the English name of.

Imageย I basically made it a tradition to eat these on my birthday.

Apparently they’re very Dutch, because even my German grandmother didn’t know them (and she actually baked my birthday cake!) They’re very tasty though, especially the pink icing on it ๐Ÿ™‚ Nobody is really sure how to eat them properly, but the easiest way is to eat the whipped cream in the middle first, and then take the pastry in your hand and eat those.

Yesterday (Sunday) my grandparents from Germany came over with the birthday cake I mentioned, which was a strawberry cake andย very delicious! It was very nice to have them here as we hadn’t seen them for a couple of months.

All in all, I had a nice birthday. Meanwhile I’m still waiting for my Sketch to arrive this week and I simply cannot wait! I have stickers and sticky notes to use in it that I haven’t even unwrapped yet cause I only want to use them in the new Filo… Dilemma! It’s okay though, it’ll be here soon ๐Ÿ™‚ (Thanks Steve!) As soon as it arrives, I will make a picture heavy post featuring a review in the Sketch and a look at the new goodies I bought for it.

Stay tuned for that and thanks for reading! ๐Ÿ™‚

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 10, 2013 in filofax, life

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Birthday update!

  1. aryatjuh

    June 10, 2013 at 2:04 pm

    It seems something like a Tompoes. (I speak Dutch)

     
    • Daebak Mari

      June 10, 2013 at 4:51 pm

      Yes, but you spell it as Tom pouce. I just don’t know the English word for it lol (I’m Dutch)

       

Leave a Reply

 
